Under the Rangpur division, the district of Rangpur is bordered on the north by Nilphamari district, on the south by Gaibandha district, on the east by Kurigram and on the west by Dinajpur district. Rangpur town is the divisional headquarter. It has 02 circles, 08 police stations: Rangpur Sadar, Taragonj, Bodorgonj, Gonagachora, Mithapokor, Pirojpur, Pirgacha and Kawnia; 03 outposts, 02 investigation centers and 01 camp.