Nilfamari was established as a district in 1984 under Rajshahi division and now functioning under Rangpur division. It has six police stations: Nilfamari, Saidpur, Jaldhaka, Kishorgong, Domar, and Dimla. The historical places of the district include Nilsagar, tomb of Hazrat Pir Mohiuddin (kundupukur), Saidpur airport, Uttra EPZ (Export Processing Zone), Teesta Barrage (Partly shared by Lalmonirhat district), Leprosy Hospital. The district police is working to maintain law and order and establish peace and social tranquility.